Star Wars: the force awakens

The very first Star Wars film I saw was “Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones.” Despite the many criticisms about the George Lucas’ prequel trilogy, this was the movie that made me fall in love with the franchise. The original trilogy only enhanced my adoration for these movies.

When I heard there was going to be a new “Star Wars” film, I probably cheered, and then I got sad when I remembered my mom already sold my fake green lightsaber.

For those who are a little confused, “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” follows where “Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi” left off. Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) learned Leia (Carrie Fisher) is his twin sister, the one who kissed him in the previous movie; fought/saved his father Darth Vader/Anakin Skywalker (voiced by James Earl Jones); defeated the Emperor (Ian McDiarmid portrayed him in all of the movies); and became a jedi.  

When Disney bought the series – Princess Leia is now an official Disney Princess – I wasn’t expecting too many changes to occur. George Lucas selling his trademark movies meant getting rid of extra components.

Graphic by Nhi Le
Graphic by Nhi Le

In 2015, Marvel Comics gained full ownership over the license to produce “Star Wars” comics. This license formerly belonged to Dark Horse Comics, who first started publishing comics based off the movie in 1986. This company is also known for publishing comics about “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and “Lara Croft.”

Novels following movie (then known as the expanded universe) have been around for fans since 1977. In the process of changing ownership, “Star Wars: Legends,” the expanded universe created through novels and comics, became non-canon. Anything that’s canon is considered to be official or standard.

Basically anything that happened in the expanded universe doesn’t really count anymore.

I think this is a mistake. The expanded universe created the new Jedi Order, searching for all those incognito padawans and giving a second try for the Jedi to bring peace to the galaxy. Getting rid of this universe takes away some creative opportunities to explore with complex new characters.

Here are some new members inducted into the Skywalker-Solo clan:

Graphic by Nhi Le
Graphic by Nhi Le from Creative Commons character portraits


There’s still a little confusion about what’s still canon and what isn’t, but it was nice to have the expanded universe while it lasted. As disappointed as I was, there’s no use dwelling on the past. Losing this universe didn’t mean I wasn’t looking forward to the new film. Hearing that JJ Abrams would be producing it didn’t deter my mood either, considering I found his “Star Trek” films entertaining.

For this new movie, I’m excited to see how Abrams plans to extend the universe and to meet Kylo Ren, Rey, Finn, and the new droid BB-8. I’ve heard multiple rumors regarding the film’s plot: maybe Luke Skywalker is actually the main villain of the film or maybe Kylo Ren and Rey are actually the Solo Twins. However, I’m a little afraid expectations will be set too high to the point where Abrams will jump too far to try and reach them.

If it doesn’t meet our expectations, maybe that’s okay. All that people really need to remember is that the original trilogy (movies four, five, and six) and the prequel trilogy (movies one, two, and three) is still canon. Those were the movies fans fell in love with, and those are the films that they’ll always stick with.

Author: Nhi Le

Nhi Le – aka Nikki – joins The Eye for her third and final year as a senior. She enjoys comic books, crime novels, and an excessive use of verbal irony.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s